The Trial of Lotta Rae

A Times Best New Historical Fiction pick, perfect for fans of The Familiars and The Binding. ‘KEEPS THE READER HOOKED TO THE END’ – THE TIMES___________Halloween night, 1906. Lotta Rae is assaulted by a wealthy gentleman and bravely takes him to trial alongside her barrister, William.But the verdict is devastating, the consequences unimaginable. When Lotta discovers she has been betrayed, she vows to deliver her own justice.Twelve years later, William and Lotta meet again: this night, their final reckoning.The day in court is done. But tonight he will hear her testimony.___________’A masterclass in storytelling’ – Donal Ryan’Utterly absorbing and vividly realised’ – Irish Independent’An enthralling drama’ – Best’A sweeping, heart-breaking quest for justice’ – Fiona Looney’A tale told with such ominous beauty. Lotta will stay with me forever’ – Chas Newkey-Burden’Weaves historical fact with an engaging and page-turning plot’ – Sinead Moriarty’This is a sit-down-and-do-not-get-up-until-you’ve-finished read’ – Belfast Telegraph’A brilliant tale’ – Sunday Business Post

The Trial of Lotta Rae : The unputdownable historical novel of 2022

A Times Best New Historical Fiction pick, perfect for fans of The Familiars and The Binding. ‘KEEPS THE READER HOOKED TO THE END’ – THE TIMES ___________Halloween night, 1906. Lotta Rae is assaulted by a wealthy gentleman and bravely takes him to trial alongside her barrister, William. But the verdict is devastating, the consequences unimaginable. When Lotta discovers she has been betrayed, she vows to deliver her own justice. Twelve years later, William and Lotta meet again: this night, their final reckoning. The day in court is done. But tonight he will hear her testimony. ___________’A masterclass in storytelling’ – Donal Ryan’Utterly absorbing and vividly realised’ – Irish Independent’An enthralling drama’ – Best’A sweeping, heart-breaking quest for justice’ – Fiona Looney’A tale told with such ominous beauty. Lotta will stay with me forever’ – Chas Newkey-Burden’Weaves historical fact with an engaging and page-turning plot’ – Sinead Moriarty’This is a sit-down-and-do-not-get-up-until-you’ve-finished read’ – Belfast Telegraph’A brilliant tale’ – Sunday Business Post