Loading Events

Forest Philharmonic plays Sibelius, Bacewicz and Delibes

Sunday 30 June at 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
BACEWICZ Overture,
DELIBES Coppelia Suite,
SIBELIUS Symphony No. 1 in E minor

Conductor Mark Shanahan

The last concert of this season ends with the much-loved Sibelius Symphony No 1, which he completed in 1900. It combines his distinctive tight musical structures and perfectly-judged orchestral colours with heart-on-sleeve emotion. In the first half, we visit Paris in 1870, for some gorgeous highlights from Delibes’ wonderful ballet Coppélia – which has a mix of romance, fairy-tale, and (of course!) automata who come to life. The concert starts with the brilliance of Bacewicz’s Concert Overture from 1943. Written during the Nazi occupation of Poland, this work got its first performance after the war in 1945.

If you are interested in attending all four of our main concerts next season (October 2024 -June 2025) you might like to consider purchasing a Season Pass. This will give you a discount on the cost of purchasing tickets to all four concerts separately. For more information please email: tickets@forestphilharmonic.org.uk.

To be kept up to date with about our future concerts you might wish to join our mailing list. If so, please contact us at: orchestra@forestphilharmonic.org.uk.

Share This Event



St Gabriel’s Parish Church Aldersbrook
12 Aldersbrook Road
London, England E12 5HH United Kingdom